Loading... Please wait...

Florida Book Awards

2013 Florida Book Award Winner!

We are pleased to announce that John Tkac's novel Talking to Water is the gold medal winner of the 2013 Florida Book Awards competition.  A jury of three members selected the winning entries in nine different categories:  general and popular fiction, Florida nonfiction, general nonfiction, poetry, children's literature,  young adult literature, Spanish language, and visual arts.  All authors are residents of Florida, with the exceptions of the Florida nonfiction and visual arts categories, which are open to authors from any location.

The Florida Book Awards exists for one purpose--to honor the best work written by Florida authors and about Florida culture in the previous year. Begun in 2006, the Florida Book Awards is the most comprehensive state book awards program in the United States, and the only one with a Spanish Language category. The successes and growth the Florida Book Awards have enjoyed in the last six years are testimony to the quality of authorship and the rich culture of books that exists and continues to prosper in the Sunshine State.





Buy Talking to Water Now!

Buy a Book

What's on John's Mind?

Sign up to our newsletter